The Councillors

Parish Councillors

Neil retired from a long career in local government in 2016, when he rejoined the Parish Council. He has lived in the Aiskew and Bedale area since 1974 and is keen to promote Aiskew as a community in its own right, with its own facilities, such as a village hall and a primary school. This reflects how the village has grown over recent years.

As well as local government experience in County and Unitary authorities he has also been a governor at Bedale Primary school and Bedale High School.

Neil is keen to promote Aiskew and Leeming Bar, but recognises that they are different communities with differing needs. You will see him walking and cycling around the local area, he is particularly interested in making our community a better place to live, through simple things like improving street lighting and introducing traffic speed measures, to influencing planning decisions to reflect the community’s needs.

James, runs his business WJP Software Limited who provide Quality Control Software to the NHS Pharmacy Sector, based in Bedale Hall. He has lived in Aiskew for 7 years having moved from Ayton near Scarborough. However in this relatively short time he has become well acquainted with the parish and is often found walking his dog Alfie around it. James is always busy with his wife and two children and in the little free time he has likes dinghy sailing and power boating, and is an RYA  Instructor.

James became a councillor because he was passionate about the right things been done in the parish and wanted to be involved in those decisions, he also want to make best use of the parish precent and spend parishioners taxes wisely while trying to bring efficiencies to them. His favourite thing about this parish is how is it a great mix of a rural community with great transport links.

address 4 Poppy Court, Aiskew, Bedale, DL8 1FG

Ian, now retired, is the former Watch Manager at Bedale Fire Station and has been a Councillor on the Parish Council for a number of years now.  Ian has a strong association with the area having grown up in Masham, educated at Bedale High School. He has experience in quarry engineering, road surfacing, contracts management, education, youth work, play and broadband networks. 

address The Old Farmhouse 58 Bedale Road Aiskew

County Councillors

As well as your parish Councillors you may wish to contact your District & County Councillors to help with your issues

Party: Conservative

Electoral Division: Bedale division

Find out more about County Councillor John Weighell.

address Southlands Exelby Road Bedale DL8 2ES


Parish Clerk

Aiskew & Leeming Bar Parish Council Clerk

Mrs S Nicholson
Usual working Days / Hours

  • Tues 2-4
  • Wed 10-12 
  • Thur 10-1

Tel: 07903 384207